News:

SMF - Just Installed!

Main Menu

What program do you use?

Started by Sarah Badr, January 06, 2013, 10:23:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sarah Badr

What computer software program does everyone use to create all of this beautiful artwork? I am also an artist, and am stuck inside pretty much 24/7 and alone and don't have too much to fill my time. I would love to try my hand at creating this beautiful artwork on my computer.

Is it just a program you can purchase and use with your mouse or are there additional attachements like computer paint brushes or airbrushes that you use like a mouse?

Are they sketched by hand then scanned into the computer and color added there?

I REALLY want to try this out. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Sarah Badr

Sunchaser

I use gimp mostly. Its free to download and easy to use :)

Sarah Badr

Are you "painting" them using your mouse?

And, are you sketching them by hand then scanning them onto your computer to paint?

I've never tried to do artwork on the computer.

YourLoveOnly

What people use to create their adoptables is very different for everyone. For example, Saturnalia has an adoptable that features both digital images and images that are handdrawn and then scanned in. I don't draw my own art, but purchase shaded lineart sets and color them using GIMP. I know people who do draw their own art have various methods, some people draw a sketch on paper and scan it in, then ink and color it on the computer. I've even heard of people inking on paper and only coloring on the computer. A lot of artists also have a tablet instead of a mouse, but some people just use their mouse and there are even those rare people who only have a laptop's touchpad! Programs used are different too, most common ones are Photoshop, Paint Shop Pro, SAI and GIMP. I think only GIMP is free.

Sunchaser