News:

SMF - Just Installed!

Main Menu

Custom Painted Breyers?

Started by Ravvana, February 11, 2010, 10:14:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ravvana

Let me start out by saying... I am addicted to Breyer model horses. I've been collecting since I was a little girl, and have well over sixty by this point.

Something that I've always wanted are custom Breyers of my two RL boys, Colby (now retired) and Sean. My trouble is that I'm a poor student, and all the customization sites I've seen have horses that are either
a) poorly done or
b) crazily expensive.

But I'm coming up on my one year anniversary with Sean... and I've decided to finally bite the bullet and go through with this.

Can anybody help me out with suggestions? Or is anybody here a Breyer customizer? *long shot* XD

I think I'd rather get a traditional model of just Sean, rather than classics of both, if I need to make that call to save money.

Any help is very appreciated!

Lectral

I have been looking into the same thing (well, not the protraits, per se, but the customization) - I am working up to starting customizing my own, but I have been looking around and for a solid color (bay, chestnut, etc) a lot of places charge 125-150 for a traditional - compared to what finished works go for, that is not nearly as bad

What mold would you be using for your boy?  That is my sticking point for getting my own boy done - other than his color (which will be insanely exspenive, if I can even convince someone to try)... I haven't found a mold that suits him

If I was further along in my own attempts, I would offer my own services, but at this point, I would probably fall under the A category up there XD

I could check around a few other places, see what other services I can find, if you like?

Ravvana

I did some more looking, and found this lady, who says prices "start" at $65 (plus, I assume, the cost of the raw model).
http://www.kellycampbellartist.com/custombreyer.html