News:

SMF - Just Installed!

Main Menu

Genetics Help, yes another one!

Started by BabyKittenCandy, July 31, 2010, 03:28:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BabyKittenCandy

Ok, Genetics was never my strong point in school and having been out for almost 10 years ive prolly forgotten all i knew once upon a time.

What I would like is some help with getting to grips on the very basics of working out genetics. This could be putting it into very simplistic terms that dont make my brain hurt or a link to a not too complicated page that can do the above. Or possibly, worth though how you would work out the genetics for this Quin:

QuoteBlack, front right Pastern, front left Sock, back left Fetlock, Blaze

In a way I can duplicate even if I dont fully understand it. I have not done anything in the way of horse genetics before and tbh, dont even know what half the coat names mean.

Treat me like a complete noob ^^

And many thanks in advance!

red_uni387

I typed out a long paragraph on my brother's Ipad and it deleted the entire thing -_-
So trying again on his laptop...

you'll need this page: http://www.stable.colbyforkicks.com/genetics.html

notice the letters and colors, those are the code parts for each color. your boy is black, so that's gonna be the only word you look for.

the first heading is base coats, which lists 3 letter combos and only 2 colors. your boy is black, which is next to both EE and Ee. that means he can be either, so you'd write E? as the first part of his genetic code

moving on to the confusing chart, look for the word black. it only shows up once, under the column If EE or Ee and in the row aa. Since you already got the E?, you take the aa as the next part of the code

the next 3 charts are relatively the same. since your boy is black, look under the column if black. then write down the 2 letter combo at the start of that row as the genetic code :)

red_uni387